Home Movies Gollapudi Srinivas National Award 2014

Gollapudi Srinivas National Award 2014

The Gollapudi Srinivas National Awards for the year 2014 was held in the city recently. The event was attended by Telugu Superstar Chiranjeevi, Suhasini Maniratnam and Farah Khan among others.

About the Award

Gollapudi Srinivas Award is a national-level private award given to a first-time director in Indian Cinema every year. It is given out in the memory of Gollapudi Srinivas (born March 3, 1966). He is the youngest son of veteran Telugu film personality Gollapudi Maruthi Rao. This award was first announced in 1997 at Chennai.

While directing his début Telugu film Prema Pustakam, Gollapudi Srinivas succumbed to a water accident on August 12, 1992. The Telugu film industry lost a promising director. The Maruthi Rao family established the Gollapudi Srinivas Memorial Foundation to perpetuate the memory and instituted an annual cash award for the Best Début Director chosen from among Indian-language films. As part of the event, an eminent Indian film personality gives the keynote lecture.