Cyclone Gaja leaves a trail of destruction in Tamil Nadu

The deadly cyclone Gaja with an average wind speed of 80 Kmph to 90 Kmph and steadily gusting at 100 KMPH) made a landfall in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.  The deep depression formed over central bay of Bengal, intensified into a tropical cyclone storm. It is moving in west-northwest direction.

Initially the Storm was predicted to move from Port Blair – North Tamil Nadu  – South Andhra Pradesh by Indian Metrological Department (IMD). However, due to changes in wind direction and pressure belts, the storm’s intensity has reduced and the storm track has changed course.  At the moment, the Storm is moving West- Southwest direction (i.e) Bay of Bengal-Port Blair – South Tamil Nadu  – Kerala-Arabian Sea.

The map represents the Gusting Windspeed and Cyclone Track of Gaja. Click on the point markers for more info related to the location coordinates.




The storm made a landfall in with wind speed of 100-110 kmph gusting to 120 kmph. Following locations within Tamil Nadu received rainfall between 4 cms to 17cms on November 16th 2018.

District Location Rainfall (cms)
Tiruvarur Muthupet 17
Tiruvarur Thiruthuraipoondi 17
Thanjavur Adiramapatnam 16
Thanjavur Peravurani 14
Thanjavur Pattukottai 14
Cuddalore Neyveli AWS 14
Cuddalore Virudachalam 12
Kancheepuram Chengalpattu 11
Cuddalore Cuddalore 9
Thanjavur Madukkur 8
Pudukkottai Arantangi 8
Tiruvannamalai Vandavasi 8
Cuddalore Srimushnam 7
Kancheepuram Uthiramerur 7
Kanyakumari Nagercoil 7
Ramanathapuram Valinokkam Ramanathapuram 7
Thanjavur Orthanad 7
Tiruvarur Needamangalam 7
Cuddalore Sethiathope 7
Kanyakumari Thuckalay 7
Puducherry Pondicherry 7
Cuddalore Tozhudur 7
Nagapattinam Nagapattinam 6
Cuddalore Parangipettai 6
Dindigul Kodaikanal 6
Tiruvarur Valangaiman 6
Ariyalur JayamkonDam 6
Kancheepuram Kancheepuram 6
Cuddalore Chidambaram 5
Karaikal Karaikal 5
Pudukkottai Alangudi 5
Ariyalur Sendurai 5
Kanyakumari Kanyakumari 5
Kanyakumari Eraniel 5
Ariyalur Ariyalur 5
Ramanathapuram Rameswaram 5
Tiruvarur Kodavasal 5
Kancheepuram Kelambakkam 5
Nagapattinam Mayiladuthurai 5
Ramanathapuram Pamban 5
Thanjavur Thanjavur pto 5
Thanjavur Tiruvaiyaru 5
Tiruvarur Pandavaiyar head 4
Thanjavur Papanasam 4
Tiruvannamalai Cheyyar 4
Tiruvarur Nannilam 4
Pudukkottai Perungalur 4
Thanjavur Thiruvidaimaruthur 4
Tiruvarur Tiruvarur 4
Toothukudi Thoothukudi port AWS 4
Trichy Trp town 4
Trichy Tiruchirappalli 4
Pudukkottai Karambakudi 4
Trichy Pullambadi 4
Cuddalore K.M.Koil 4
Perambalur Perambalur 4
Toothukudi Tuticorin 4
Thanjavur Thanjavur 4
Tiruvallur Tiruvallur 4
Trichy Samayapuram 4
Karur Panchapatti 4
Trichy Thuvakudi IMTI 4
Cuddalore Panruti 4
Thanjavur Kumbakonam 4
Pudukkottai Arimalam 4
Pudukottai Pudukottai 4
Tiruvarur Mannargudi 4
Salem Thammampatty 4
Villupuram Vanur 4
Nagapattinam Anaikaranchatram- Kollidam 4


The Tamil Nadu Government, State Disaster Management Team and nine teams from National Disaster Response Force are working in providing disaster mitigation and emergency response initiatives in the storm affected areas. The State Government has made ready 29000 permanent cyclone shelters, 233 temporary shelters in Schools, Colleges and Marriage halls. As of date, over 5000 state residents have moved to these shelters, anticipating disaster from cyclone. The government is also making efforts to provide food and other basic facilities to the victims.  It is anticipated that an additional 20,000 victims  along the coastal areas, may move to these local government shelters.

Take better care of your family, when it rains. Read More: